Night Shift

Tonight will be my last night shift ever. As an adult, I get to choose these things about my life. I will no longer have to pay some one to watch my toddler while I sleep for 4 hours to recover from a 12 hour ER shift. Nope. Not doing it anymore. I’m not in my 20s and it has become physically painful to endure.

I must admit that I have learned a few things over the last 6 months of this BS. Mostly about myself, my family, and about the medical field. Particularly the Denver Medical Scene.

I have learned that I have limits. I have also learned that I will be nice and helpful and pleasant regardless of my physical condition. However, if management is around, I completely lose my filter and just say it how it is. I’m sure it came to no surprise that I resigned. I often told them how much I loved my job. It was the easiest thing I have ever had to do. These are facts. I enjoy what I do. I do not enjoy the toll it take on my body and family. I have learned that I can walk 8+ miles in a 12 hours shift. I have learned optimal times to drink coffee. I have learned that I can write a novel, and enjoy it.

I have learned how to leave my son with a stranger. I have figured out the best techniques of sneaking out. I have found good caretakers and bad ones. My husband has taught me that my bed time for our son is not HIS bed time for our son. He has also taught me that things don’t have to happen in the routine that I do them every time and there is more than one right way to do something. I have learned that my little toddler talks very well over the phone and loves to tell me about his day in jibberish before bed.

I have learned that once you get your foot in the door, you’re in like Flynn. It helps if you know someone. You can get hired over an internal employee for a day shift position, if you are friends with one of the zone managers. (Why I started looking for a new job.) If you interview well, your name gets passed around even if you don’t get the job you originally applied for and you’ll get a job anyway.

I took a $2 pay cut and added an hour round trip commute just to A. Spend less on childcare and B. have more time with my family. I haven’t had a weekend off in six months. I have no desire to climb a corporate ladder. I don’t care if I am anyone’s boss. I want to work and go the hell home. I want just enough time outside of my house that I don’t want to burn the place down first thing in the morning.

So, it is with much happiness and relief, that I admit we might be seeing less of each other. I have to actually schedule time in to work on my novel, because I won’t have time at work. It is a wanted change believe me. Being busy makes 12 hours fly by.

This will not be my last post. I will maybe post a sneak peak of the novel just to get feelers out there. Thanks for tuning in. Please don’t write me off. Maybe I’ll pencil you into my new schedule as well

5 thoughts on “Night Shift

  1. Good for you! When you said “I don’t care if I am anyone’s boss. I want to work and go the hell home.” It made me realize that I am the same way! So many people in my life right now are all about “Working for themselves, being their own boss” but I’m not like that, I don’t care. Wake up, do your best, and keep going.

    Like

Leave a Reply

