A rare Rant.

Today I am writing you from my new $200 laptop. I’ve had it for a couple of months but it hardly gets used. I usually use my work computer because I have no peace to write at home. I am lucky the Husband has taken the toddler for a bit so I can rest and visit with you. Kid has been sick and clingy and Husband has been out of town for work. I’m close to losing my damn mind.

First, I’d like to discuss confrontation. I am a huge advocate for confrontation when it is constructive. Confrontation does not have to be negative, mean or even aggressive. The alternative to confrontation would be passive aggression. This makes me want to punch throats. It solves nothing and is not constructive. Ever.

I am an introvert. I am not shy, I just find social interactions exhausting. I am also an auditory learner and work through things easier when I can talk them out with people I trust. It helps me align my thoughts and most of the time offers a different perspective. This is also how I get through a road block in my writing.

I don’t do “beef”. I’m not going to get in anyone’s face, call names, or make accusations. Most often I will give someone the benefit of the doubt and assume they were completely oblivious to whatever has caused me to speak to them.

There is also a time, a place, and the right person that will be receptive to an honest conversation. Then there are people who are so far on another planet, whatever you say to them will not be constructive because they will immediately resort to placing blame, pointing fingers, and calling names. I don’t even waste my breath.

Social media has given people the proverbial balls to be passive aggressive. I don’t play into this either. I don’t argue with people on public visible threads. My purpose in this world is not to prove who is right or wrong, nor is it to make a damn fool of myself in front of all my friends. Call me ugly, I’m going to pray that your daddy issues get resolved. But I will do it privately. Which bring my next rant…

Do not tell me “I’m praying for you.” I know one person that comes to mind that when they say this, it is very condescending. She thinks she’s clever about it. She’s not. I don’t like it because what are you really looking for? Should I thank you for praying or God that actually answered? Things like this should be done in private. (I’m not talking about hiding religion.) You know what will help me in my time of need? Listen to me. And possible offer a different perspective. I’m happy that when people talk to God they are thinking of me. I’d be lost without these people, but you shouldn’t need credit for it. My sister is a youth pastor and doesn’t agree with me. Which is fine.

Lastly, don’t people know the real definition of Bigotry?!?! “If you don’t like ____ then I don’t like you!” “If you have a different opinion on ____ then I don’t like you” This makes me face palm. I tolerate these people because I don’t judge. It’s not my place to pass judgment on ignorance or on anything at all. I won’t stop talking to a friend because of their opposed opinion. I also don’t try to educate people who don’t want to be educated (again with wasting my breath) I’m simply not compatible with these people and I may choose to not be friends with them. I don’t hate them. It just takes too much energy to deal with.

Did I contradict myself enough? Sorry you had to catch me on one of my down mood swings. Pregnancy is fun but I want to throw up all the time. Thanks for tuning in. Feel free to leave a different perspective in the comments. Or let me know you’re praying for me. lol

6 thoughts on “A rare Rant.

    1. I tried looking up your blog but It would let me follow it. I’m a Vet too with a boy and one on the way, writing my first novel and doing freelance until then. Thought it would be cool to connect with a like mind. Thanks for taking the time to read my rant btw.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s strange, it let me follow yours so maybe now it will work? Or maybe it’s a mobile thing if you’re on your phone, sometimes it won’t let me follow people on there. It does seem like we have a lot in common. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

