Toot TOOT!!

13575750_10154116574605932_6945945641499489858_oToday this has a couple of meanings…

  1. I’d like to take a minute to toot my own horn. I really think people don’t brag on themselves, least of all me. My blog is full of hopeful hurt and strange musings. My honesty is limited to my rough times and I definitely need a change of pace.
    1. I worked enough hours to leave work at noon to spend time with my husband on his day off and take my son to the pool. I have two hours of work left for the day and 8ish hours tomorrow and MAYBE have 2 things left to do. I am so super productive at work that I am able to take a minute or two of my “lunch” and blog.
    2. I have not stressed yet about this baby coming. I have paced myself with the prep work and was super frugal about buying everything we would need. I have stayed on track with my weight gain and am healthy enough to try this water birthing thing.
    3. We have saved two months of pay checks to cover my lack of money on maternity leave. I have also gone through the budget and found places to cut back and have a solid plan to do so.
  2. The other toot is that the mister got called back to the railroad. This is both exciting and more stressful than just having a baby to begin with. I am thankful for the railroad and the benefits it holds, but there are too many variables in that equation. Where will he be working? What shift? Will he be on the extra board and on call 24/7? will I be able to count on him having a schedule at all? How long until he’s furloughed again?

So now I have to figure out who is going to watch my son. Who is going to take him to school and pick him up while I’m at work? When my mom leaves after the baby is born, how will I juggle a preschooler and an infant on my own? When I come back to work, what will that look like? Tipping my hat to all single mama’s. Solo parenting is terrifying. I will just be thankful for the days he is able to be there and help.

I know that looking at everything I have accomplished this pregnancy, that I will indeed figure things out. Its tough without family support, but I have managed to make it this far with limited help. I am smart and resourceful and know when I truly need a hand. I know a couple people I can call in a pinch, too. The mister has pushed around taking a leave of absence and finding out what that entails. I do not put too much in that basket. He will not resign so I think we will have to ride it out.

Next week we are taking a “Babymoon” and leaving the boy at home with the nanny. The guilt I already have over this will probably make its way into another post, but that is for another day.

Leave me a comment and toot your own  horn. I promise no one reads this thing! lol

4 thoughts on “Toot TOOT!!

  1. I had 4 kids in 5 years, worked full time and part time. My mister was finishing grad school and interning. My family was a thousand miles away. I look back and don’t know how I managed. We didn’t have a nanny, life was hectic! It literally was true team work. And sometimes I picked up a lot of slack and vice versa. It made us stronger and our kids closer. Although it’s mostly a blur, I wouldn’t change a thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the key is remembering that I wont always be this tired. I’ll have a 10 day buffer before I’m thrown to the wolves. That might be just enough time to figure out my new life. Thanks for your wisdom and insight. It’s so hard not to be emotional and look at things objectively.

      Like

  2. Good work mama! I really don’t know how single mama’s do it–I’m sure if you reach out on MSPCU you will find a mama or 2 that might be able to commiserate. One thought–reach out to your managers and see if they would allow you to be flexible with when you come in to work so that you can drop him off. Another thought–reach out to the preschool and see if there are any transit options they offer (our old daycare had pick-ups at certain areas) OR see if you could reach out to other parent’s in the school to form a bussing schedule you can all split.
    I will shoot my own toot out (giggling a bit as I read that): small victory today–I found myself a new physician in a new country and have hit my workout goal for the FIRST TIME since moving to New Zealand. Woot woot! Now if I can just eat right all day too…….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

