Mom Bod

Flabby. Fluffy. Soft. Cushion. I don’t care how you describe it to make me feel better (or worse) but lawd it needs to change and fast. Yes I just grew a human in there. Yes I lost all my prego weight in 2 weeks. I do not like what I see. But I especially do not like not being able to do anything about it.

C section recovery is about 6-8 weeks. During this time, unnecessary use of my abs should be kept to a minimum. No lifting, twisting, or any physical exertion of any kind really. I can not even attempt to tone my arms without engaging my core. So I sit and nurse and eat. I walk around thinking this may help but my lack of sleep hurts far worse than my wounds at this point. So in true “me” fashion, I control what I can and hope to be blessed with 3 more weeks of patience.

After doing some research, I have found a pretty solid way to determine how many calories I actually burn while feeding my little miss. I also know that i need a minimum of 1200 calories daily. So i watch what I eat and try to get the most bang out of my food choices. However, additional research shows that when one is sleep deprived, it makes you want to eat more; and not only that, but it makes you crave junk food of immediate fuel. FML. I can make it to dinner within my daily caloric goal, but bedtime snacks destroy me.

Then there are the body creams to help tighten loose skin. Yes, I have done these in the past along with a strict diet and exercise and have seen crazy amazing results. But I am here today to be honest and tell you that a good 2-3 inches of my waist can be attributed to pizza and pepsi alone. As much as I would like to think that my 7 lb child left me in this condition, I know deep down it was donuts. It is truly a medical miracle I did not develop gestational diabetes. I told the midwife that I ate an orange nearly everyday and was told that was too much sugar. Laughable.

I know there is no magic pill that is healthy and safe for me while nursing to take these inches off. I know that honing in my nutrition will help but I really need to focus on maintaining my health and not be too hard when I do require immediate fuel in the form of a cookie or marshmallows or both.. microwaved and sandwiched together .

3 more weeks of waiting. I can do this.

Leave a Reply

