Underestimated

via Daily Prompt: Capable I am easily my worst critic. I am constantly inside myself, second guessing everything. The challenge is, whatever it is, I should do it anyway. If it is successful, I win. If it is something less than what it should be, yeah it might suck bad and my ego will take a strong hit, but I put myself out there when others did not. That, in itself, is a victory.

Okay, lets bring it back to the day to day. Pinterest.com is my favorite measure of success. Most frequently it is recipes, but sometimes I will get a creative itch to paint or recreate something I have pinned. Here is the link to a board where I keep all of my personal creations.

New foods are fun. Maybe not the first time around, but there are some true winners.

meatloaf-monster

Meatloaf Monster was a ton of fun to look at, but if you’re not a fan of regular meatloaf, the novelty ends there. I love meatloaf AND bacon. Mr Meatloaf did not last very long.

When I am feeling particularly artsy fartsy, I will chose what I like to call a “trash project” where I take trash and make it into some sort of home decor. These shutters I decorated for my two kiddos are super fun and soooo easy. I do tell people concerning 90% of my work, to not look too closely. I am not trying to sell my stuff at Pier One, I’m simply making fun art for me and my family to enjoy.

shutters

When I have patience and hours to spare, I crotchet. During my second deployment, one of the doctors taught me how to read and follow patterns, and now I can almost recreate anything without one. Dragon hat is a pattern I actually followed but the gem is my own embellishment I added when my son could not keep the hood from falling back.

dragon-hat

I am a sucker for instant gratification. Painting is probably the quickest way to make something pretty cool. It has been my “go-to” craft lately. They make for easy, inexpensive and very personalized gifts for the family. I’m not scared to let my nerd flag fly. This is one of my favorites… Get it?!?!

wash-your-hans

I have some pretty bad disasters that emerge from time to time. Food does not always come out how I thought it would, or is not enough this or that. My paint lines are not straight and the words might be completely crooked. But when it comes down to it, I am completely capable of creating something beautiful out of nothing. String into clothes, trash into art, wood into furniture. These are all marketable skills if sh!t were to hit the fan and the world was reduced to bartering goods.

I am a Pinterest addict. Share your profile so I can see what you’re up to!

3 thoughts on “Underestimated

Leave a Reply

