Hey Jude…

15896161_10154650106405932_1636920018776070188_o

Some weekends I get a sudden burst of energy and use crafts as an outlet. Here are a couple more, but this is a new one that speaks far louder to me than the simple words shadowed by the shelf.

“Take a sad song, and make it better…” Most everyone is familiar with the song “Hey, Jude” by The Beetles. In this one line sits many devastating stories of my life, some of which I have shared with you in earlier posts, and others maybe not.

My Willow Tree collection started accidentally. During my first deployment, my very best friend sent me two friends holding hands (second from the left). This is now my memorial for her as she was taken from this world only weeks later.

My second Willow Tree statue (center) was a gift from my husband for Christmas when I was pregnant with our little guy and our first child. I usually have to tell my husband what to get me for Christmas, but this was completely on his own and seeing as how Sami’s statue held such a strong position in my heart, it only made sense that our growing family sit right there with it. Its present position on the shelf is very important, as we walk through this life together, the rest of the world happens around us. The puppy to the right of center is our family pup, and trial child, Watson. The little boy angel to the left of center presents the 3 little people that we never got to meet.

I purchased the sisters statue (second from the right) because of everyone in this world, my sister has always been a support and friend. My cheerleader and sounding board. (Love you!)

The last two of my collection were recent gifts also from my mister. The far left is the little boy and his mama and the far right, a little girl and her mama.

I’ve had many sad songs play in my life, but turning them into something so incredibly beautiful has been a welcomed journey.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Hey Jude…

  1. We have two Willow Tree figures. One signifies our family after adopting our daughter (similar to yours but the father/mother is sitting holding the baby) and the other is an angel to represent the adoption that fell apart at the last minute while at the hospital. I was always fascinated with how something with such simplicity can evoke such a strong emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing. My younger self would mock such sentimental objects. My mother used to collect decorative plates when I was a kid. It made no sense to me. But the personal stories they tell make me able to appreciate them now that I have lived a little more life. I’m happy for your family and glad your sad song got better.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

