Six Facts Sunday- Being a Writer

I’m crunched for time, so lets jump right in.

  1. It is a difficult thing to claim. Like saying “I am an artist” or “I am a musician” . I feel like without significant accolades or some sort of certification, that I am an impostor.
  2. If I am not writing, I feel like I should be writing. And when I am writing, I feel like I need to  do a million other things.
  3. I honestly think that I can make a living from writing. I know the chances of this are the same for artists and musicians.
  4. I like writing fiction more than writing about my life, but people enjoy reading about my adventures than fake ones. Its kind of exhausting. I could probably be far more honest writing fiction, than I can admit otherwise.
  5. I could not and would not continue this venture without support from readers, fellow writers, and my husband.
  6. I love to know when people read my stuff. Feedback is easily the best validation. Even if it’s a single emoji. All writers want people to read their stuff.

 

Well, that’s it for today. I am making great progress on my book. So far I have seven chapters posted (about 21,000 words.) Over half way done editing what exists before I can begin adding new content. Hoping to have the entire first draft finished by November and off to an editor. It is such a huge relief to actually be working on it versus just talking about it. Anyway, have a great weekend everyone!

6 thoughts on “Six Facts Sunday- Being a Writer

  1. Have a great weekend! I think if you believe you are a writer then YOU ARE A WRITER! It’s hard to own, and hard to find the confidence to really feel like you’re not an imposter, but I think it’s also very important to do! Own it! You’re a fabulous writer! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sounds like you are currently in the zone. You should write as much as possible while the creative juices are flowing.
    It is advised to concentrate on just getting the words on the pages when writing the first draft before you move onto editing because you never know where the story takes a turn. I edit as I write also but have been trying to curb myself since I took this fiction writing course on MOOC. Thought I’d share that in case it helps. Editing blocked me out for four years in between.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to go back because I had put it down for so long. I tightened up the writing and change some inconsistencies . A lot of it I haven’t read since it was originally written.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

