Six Facts Saturday- Writing Challenge

I announced last month that I would be participating in a writing challenge which would limit my ability to post on my blog regularly. In the past 11 days I have edited 14 chapters and have added almost 2,000 new words to my original manuscript. This puts me about 1400 words behind the rest of the group. Since it had been over a year since I had read the original work, it was important to consistency that I went back and did some cleaning up. If I maintain about 500 words a day for the rest of the month, I will win the challenge.

Here are a couple of things I have learned so far:

  1. I learned how to move forward with my story. I had been stuck for so long that I am super excited for where this is going.
  2. Having people read and want to continue reading my book has been a huge motivator.
  3. I have learned that the current draft is simply a bare bones story line and lacks in emotion and description. The second and third draft, I intent to beef it up as far as cleaning it up and adding more elegant writing. “She was angry.” is about the extent of my descriptions right now.
  4.  Writing every single day is hard, but 500 words is not such a tall order even when I am pressed for time. It’s not stressful to sit with an expectation of a page and a half. Mostly because I finally know where it is going.
  5. Writing every single day is easy, but getting the movie that is playing out in my head into written words that not only make sense but are interesting to read is very intimidating.
  6. There are so many other talented writers out there!!! There are stories of every genre entered in this challenge and they have taught me a thing or two about my own writing.
    1. A Crack in the Mirror is a fantasy story
    2. P.S. is another good one with a strong female protagonist

So many more stories (including MINE) can be found at ChapterBuzz.com

Thank you again, everyone who has read and given me feedback. I stopped posting publicly after chapter 9, so if you get to the point of needing more, I’d be happy to send you the rest.

2 thoughts on “Six Facts Saturday- Writing Challenge

Leave a Reply

