Character Play Lists

One of my favorite blogs belong to a gentleman and published author named Jim. He regularly posts his “From My Writing Play List” and I find it fun and interesting to see what other writers us as a muse for their work. This particular gentleman is a self proclaimed metal head and is directly reflected in his frequent posts. I do not share this affection for metal, but he describes what he would write while listening to the posted song. I try to place myself in this mindset for my own inspiration purposes. It is a fun exercise.

Since picking up on my novel this month for the March 10,000 challenge, I have reconnected with the characters that I have created. As I write this book, it pans out as a movie in my head. The setting of the story actually occurs where I live so I can literally SEE it everyday on my way to work. This alone has kept the story ignited and alive in my life. My morning commute reminds me of there they are and where they need to go.

Okay, to the point… This morning on my commute I noticed how, with every song that come on the radio, I think of two things:

  1. Where could this song fit into the movie version of my story.

Or

2. Of the characters in the story, who would have this song on their playlist

 

I am positive this is far more fun for me than anyone else that has been involved (helped beta-read) in my story. And I do this with far more things in different aspects in my mind. I regular commentate or narrate my own life, sometimes the life of others. When I get ready for work, I imagine I am doing make up tutorials for exhausted working moms. I make funny jokes to myself that I try to find ways to work into conversations, often repeating them throughout the day. I think this is just a product of my literary brain. Yes I am weird and strange, but you would not have known otherwise had I not just told you. đŸ˜‰

 

This picture I pinned on Pinterest  is what I imagine Hyka, one of the main characters, looks like.

hyka

Her personality i took from the Myers Briggs INTJ and a character on a comedy “Brooklyn 99” with Andy Sandberg. Despite her stoic demeanor, she is actually the comedic relief.

Anywho, have a great day everyone!

 

One thought on “Character Play Lists

  1. Hmmm… dangerous, very dangerous. Yes writer’s block is a VERY tough thing to deal with, but setting deadlines for yourself can be a very dangerous way of overcoming it. You’re essentially forcing yourself to come up with something -anything- to finish the work. Many a good story as suffered for this. Brainstorming and inspiration should come naturally and at time, a little inward reflection can help here. For me, I know what inspires me. I know what music to listen to and when and believe me, it helps.

    So while this isn’t the worst way to go about writing, it can backfire. Be careful. As always, email me if you need help and I have a full library of blog posts tackling issues like this.

    If however, you’re doing this just to give yourself the necessary kick in the pants to get back to writing, kudos. That’s not a bad way, just make sure you have your ducks in a row in terms of story first. In any case, I’m anxious to see what you come up with.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

