5 Reasons YOU Should Be Crafting (Or Know Someone That Does)

Get your hands dirty

I have always been a quick learner, fairly crafty, and extremely cheap. So when I met my good friend Jasmine of The Jaybird’s Nest, I knew she was my people. Through the years she has taught me some very valuable things. Not only that, but she helps me raise my kids. For this, I am indebted to her forever. lol So let me tell you some fun things she has taught me about crafting.

  1. It’s a marketable skill. If you decide you are done working and ready to “stick it to the man”, you have a means by which to support yourself. Now I’m not a HUGE dooms day prepper, but let’s face it, if you can make things then you can trade things. People need clothes. If you can crochet, knit, or sew then BAM, you’re a valuable asset.
  1. Signs, Signs, and more SIGNS!!! Nothing boosts your mood like a well-placed snarky sign. The possibilities are endless. Christmas, Halloween, even spring!! They make me happy, they make you happy. Everyone needs more happy. PLUS you save a bazillion dollars on decorating your home. Find some ugly furniture with good bones at a yard sale, and wha-la! You can transform it to match your décor without dropping a few hundred dollars at ikea.
10366031_1125646040800464_721644866906801000_n

Picture by The Jaybird’s Nest- Mass production underway.

  1. OMG kids are much cuter in something that was custom made for them. This should actually be its own post. I am fighting the urge to just not leave an explanation and flood the rest of this with adorable pictures of children and homemade stuffs.
17191755_10154827428960932_3004564050304239035_o

My Little Miss. Her shirt, the sheet, and the frame were made by The Jaybird’s Nest.

  1. Cheaper than therapy- Plus emotions BLECK! There is something about finishing a project that really teaches you a lot about yourself. Whether that “finish” means you return it to the trash where you got it, or it ends up as the beautiful piece you envisioned all along, you learn how much patience you have, how much coffee you can consume, and how long you can actually ignore your children whining about “She’s touching meeeee” Seriously, she can’t even crawl. Just scoot 5 more inches and you are safe from your octopus-banshee sister. Sheesh!

16587286_10154749371120932_1263546955200930965_o

  1. Supporting small business. For some crafters, your support could help them buy yet another pair of cleats because the ones they bought last week no longer fit. For others (like me) it saved me money on having to BUY you a Christmas present so that I could buy my guy another Stay Puft Marshmellow Man because he lost his at the doctor’s office.
1936761_1075165719181830_1178915604043085191_n

The Jay Bird’s Nest “Before”

6199_1075165999181802_4724715180518546856_n

The Jaybird’s Nest “After”

I make things because I have a driving need to be creative as most crafters do. It is a healthy outlet, plus power tools make me feel… Powerful? lol And when that one project turns out so good, you want everyone to see it when they come over, there is nothing like that feeling of accomplishment. Or you could just be happy you finished something before starting a fifth project.

18237995_10154985094935932_1426438292171000437_o

I did this yesterday. It was the cushioned backing of an UGLY bench. Now it’s a beautiful photo board 😀

I asked my mister yesterday (while I was painting in the kitchen and MAYBE i got a little paint on the counter) if he was annoyed with my crafting. He said no, not at all, but he just wishes that I would finish my projects before starting them so I don’t have a dresser hanging out in the garage, taking up space for a couple of years before I ultimately abandon it anyway. But hey, you win some, you lose some.

Why do you craft???

4 thoughts on “5 Reasons YOU Should Be Crafting (Or Know Someone That Does)

  1. When I learned how to do things none of them were “craft”. It was a matter of making something out of nothing or making do with what we had or could re-purpose. The greatest gift we could ever receive was something someone had made. I was raised with the idea of use it up, where it out, or pass it along. I am glad to know there are others who see the value of creating.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can spin wool into yarn! Does that count? I always thought, back when I was spinning, that in a dystopian world, when all the clothes we were able to save start to wear out, someone’s got to know how to spin wool or whatever fiber is on hand on a spinning wheel or a spindle. I do love crafting and I did it for years when I was avoiding writing LOL until one day I got tired of imagining all the plotlines and figured I can only do one thing at a time, so which one was it going to be. I picked writing, of course, but right now, my garage (where all my wool is still stored) is more insulated than our house.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG this is exactly what I feel like when I make a blanket or hat. I KNOW how to make sweaters but I could finish a novel before I could finish a sweater (going on 2 years now…) I am so glad I am not the only one that imagines their life inside a fantasy dystopian world. Like I said, I’m not a HUGE prepper, but I have plans to build a secret room LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL on the secret room! I have my drop spindles at the ready since they’re way more portable than spinning wheels. In fact, I’m getting ready to sell my last one (yes, I collected them once and had about 4 in the house once while deciding which one to keep) because it’s just not getting used at all ever since I started writing again. But the yarn will stay and I still have Thorin Oakenshield doll that I made that needs a shirt. I did pull out my cotton yarn so I can crochet dish cloths. They’re small enough that I’ll feel I’ve accomplished something 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

