“Platform”

This book thing is getting pretty serious. Thanks to another Challenge hosted by ChapterBuzz and Tim at What Inspires Your Writing, I am on target to finishing the first draft by the end of the month.

So far I have a blog, an author facebook page, a book facebook page, an author twitter account, the potential for a website, and a book that is currently #1 in it’s very VERY rough stages. Add it all up and MAYBE 1,000 people are aware I exist. In order to build on these platforms I need to post consistently on relevant subjects as well as mention I have a book coming out.

I also have a full time job, am writing 1,000 words a day to finish in time, and raising two kids while my husband is away for work.  How does someone get this done? How do I add hundreds of followers to my blog if I don’t even have time to post everyday? Getting 1000 words out consistently is a HUGE undertaking, so how can I keep up with these other social media outlets and grow them? (Yes I am soliciting YOUR advice).

Here is what I am currently planning to do. Buy a planner. Well, I bought one and am just waiting for it to come in. Plum Paper sucked me in with their blog planning section. I’ll post a good review in a couple of months if it actually works out well. Otherwise, I have no idea how I am going to keep my life straight over the next few months, much less build this gigantic following in order for an agent to even bat an eye at me.

 

7 thoughts on ““Platform”

  1. I wish I had good advice for you. I seem to never get everything done. I always have a million things that need to be done. Between my day job and home/family responsibilities, I can’t keep up with social media, blogs, reading, and writing. It’s tough. Good luck. Best wishes. 🙂

    Like

    1. Can you explain the blog tour and how that correlated with your book release?

      BTW. Once my planner gets here I have every intention of blocking off time to read. I carry your book everywhere in case I’m stuck waiting and get the opportunity to read. That’s how ridiculous my life is right now lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Which blog tour?
        I haven’t had a blog tour for my book release. I share lots of blog tour posts, but haven’t had one for either of my books.

        Like

  2. The best advice I ever got about growing your platform is to build your email list. Unlike building your platform on sites like wordpress, facebook, youtube, twitter, instagram or (insert next big thing here) which can either cancel your account for any reason, your list is your own and it’s a direct line to readers who are interested in you and your books.

    To build an email list you can start with your blog. Invite readers to sign up to your list (You can check out mailerlite.com as your provider; it’s free to use for up to 1,000 subscribers, I think) and sites like Mailerlite has landing pages like the one I use on my blog. I can recommend books to help you get started; just let me know.

    For social media, Hootsuite.com is a good resource that allows you to plan your tweets to go out at certain times throughout the day, week, or month and it also can help manage your posts on Facebook. There is also Buffer.com and then crowdfireapp.com which offer similar services although Hootsuite is more intuitive and allows one to post in private Facebook groups.

    One of the things that can happen for new authors trying to build their platform is hitting the overwhelm mode. There’s just so much to do in addition to writing and life in general. Learn where you do best at and actually enjoy and build that in addition to your email list.

    In my case, because I write romance, Facebook is where it’s at. I used to only blog and wondered where the hell my readers were because they sure weren’t in the blogging world which meant no sales and worse, no fellow romance authors to bounce ideas with. Enter Facebook where I discovered where my readers were and where I could find support from the many author groups, and my author career changed. I still love to blog and that’s why I came back after a brief hiatus, but I also know the importance of Facebook for my genre.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. As far as blog tours go, they’re great for exposure depending on your genre. They’re great for romance, that’s for sure although it’s not for sales, something authors need to remember. I’ve used them for my books and some companies are better than others. I also have a site that posts blog tour stuff (lovesexandotherdirtywords.com)and sometimes I post my reviews on there. I just found one of my reviews quoted in the back matter of one author’s second book and now I have finish reading that book and post my review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

